Settling In

by
Rachel Buck

Rachel Buck

By: Rachel Buck
Sports Information Assistant

What a few months it has been for me so far at W&L! For this being my first venture into collegiate athletics (all of my other experiences have been in the professional/minor league level) I can say that I am truly enjoying my experience!

I was chatting a few nights ago with my roommate (and assistant field hockey coach) about the season thus far when she mentioned that the fall sports would be reaching their mid-point this week. It’s so hard to believe, I just can’t figure out where the time has gone, but it’s been a great ride thus far!

So I decided to reflect back on my nearly three months here and what has made this time so enjoyable for me.

One of the biggest things that I’ve noticed making the transition from the pro to collegiate worlds is the passion and love of the game. Don’t get me wrong, there are, of course, professional teams that play with heart, but I often found myself (both at games worked and as an attendee) that a lot of games sometimes left me feeling empty when I left the stadium. It was especially evident after losses: sometimes you felt like the player left it all out on the field, but most of the time I felt that once a team went down so did their play, resulting in more of a “let’s just finish this game and get out of here” mentality than a “let’s rally and get back in” (exhibit A: my Brewers and their mid-season meltdown that they never seemed to recover from).

But here at W&L I’ve noticed a different mentality and passion for the game. Here we’re not fighting with big contracts, holdouts and often egos that appear in the upper levels. The players that are here and playing a sport are here because they truly love the game. They had a desire to play the game beyond high school and were fortunate to find an environment where they could continue to develop not only on the field, but also challenge themselves academically. The athletes that I’ve seen play are their own cheerleaders: supporting each other no matter how much they are up or down on the scoreboard, and they play every minute with all the passion for their beloved sport. Last weekend the women’s soccer team played Va. Wes and I couldn’t help but get caught-up in the game. I found myself standing in the press box and celebrating (of course with press box etiquette) when the girls registered goals. I truly believe the passion of the players on the field translates to the audience watching, and it’s that electricity that I’ve fallen in love with here at W&L.

And that care and passion for everything extends beyond the field. Everyone that I work with, from our SID office to the coaches and administration has been patient and understanding with me as I adjust to a new venue with no previous experience. Everyone that I have met has been helpful and kind, making my transition here easy and enjoyable. So thank you all.

And for me, I’m going to continue to enjoy the company and great environment that surrounds me at W&L as I watch the fall season start to crawl towards its end and prepare for the winter sports season. Oh, and learn to say Maggie without my Wisconsin accent.

2 Responses to “Settling In”

  1. JMB Says:

    Glad to hear you’re enjoying W&L! Welcome! We’re all glad to have you.

  2. Jan Says:

    We’re so glad you’re with us, Rachel. Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

