Aging Gracefully

by

By: Josh Williamson
Head Athletic Trainer

It’s funny how I’ve started to gauge my age now.  When I first started working at Washington and Lee, I didn’t even think about my age.  But now that’s changed.  I knew this year that I was starting to put some experience in the bank and have started to age when reading through the pre-participation forms that the athletes turn in…I started to see birth dates in the 1990’s.  Scary…but not entirely.  I mean I can still say that I’m in my twenties, although the big 3-0 is looming in my future soon.

In addition to seeing the birth dates move into the 90’s, I’ve also noticed that the kids don’t get my movie quotes anymore … truly disappointing.  It’s a sad day when you quote “Top Gun” and no one knows what you’re talking about.  Or, when people ask “How are you doing?” and I would respond “Doing alright, getting good grades” and they would answer back “my future’s so bright, I’ve got to wear shades.” They have no idea what I’m talking about.  When that happens, it makes me notice that I’m getting older.  And, at first, I didn’t like the idea of it.  But now, I’ve come to welcome it … there’s a lot to look forward to as I age.  Here’s my top list of things I’m looking forward to as I age:

6. AARP… far off, yet I’m already excited about the benefits

5. Stories … I’ve already started telling stories that I forget the point to

4. Marriage … my mom says I’m a “catch”, so maybe someday…

3. Grey hair … I know, sounds unusual, but I would really like to be able to buy a movie from Wal-mart and not be carded

2. Coffee … not just drinking it anymore, but relying on it like it’s a wonder drug

And, the number one thing I’m looking forward to:

1. Old man strength … Dad has it, I want it

Leave a Reply

