Holidays & Family

by

By: Rachel Buck
Sports Information Assistant

As I prepare to leave Lexington for Christmas break this week, I started to think about how I have so much to be thankful for during my few months at W&L. What triggered the idea was last night as I was packing, I stumbled upon one of my favorite quotes that my grandmother gave me from Luther’s Small Catechism’s explanation of daily bread in The Lord’s Prayer: “food and drink, clothing and shoes, house and home, land and cattle, money and goods, and most importantly family.”

The key word for me in that quote as I look back at the last six months is “family”. And with that thought I have begun to reflect on the few months I have been here at W&L. When I’m having “one of those days”, I take a step back and break it down into just the simple things that have made Lexington great for me so far. It’s amazing how keeping it simple and remembering some of the little things can help change an attitude and ground you, even when you’re having a bad day.

W&L has given me so much in the few months that I have been here, and I would like to thank everyone that has made me feel welcome and a part of the “family.” Out of all the things from Luther’s quote, none has been more evident here than the sense of family and community that W&L has provided me.

As we are now full swing into the holiday season, it becomes even more apparent of how fortunate we all are and everything that we should be thankful for. Although I usually do my “thankfuls” everyday (special shout-out to my roommate who has helped me be better about it this fall) the holidays seem to bring it out even more.  And even though your ears may be ringing from all the times you hear people say, “count your blessings” over the next few weeks, I think it’s important to not pass it over.

Service is a big part of my life. I believe in giving back to a community/world that has provided to me so much, especially during the holidays. Every year, even though I may be volunteering at the same food kitchen or donating to the same cause, it amazes me how the smallest things often get the biggest reactions. For some people just a smile and a hello changes their attitude from when they walked in the door.

So I challenge all of you to take a step back and write down everything that you are thankful for. You may be surprised how even the smallest thing can bring the biggest smile to your face.

Leave a Reply

