Resolutions

by

By: Jan Hathorn
Athletic Director

It’s a new year and the winter term is upon us. W&L had three weeks of break between terms this year and it was a welcome change. I was especially happy to have more time to spend with friends and family, and still be able to get a good week of work under my belt before the pace picks up with the start of classes.

As the New Year approached and all the talk turned to new year’s resolutions, I got to wondering why I never make resolutions at the start of a new year. The more I thought about it, the more I realized that I am, and probably always will be, an academic-year person in every part of my life.  To me, the New Year is in August, when a new school year begins. When January 1st rolls around, I tend to be unmoved by the holiday, (except for all the great bowl games on TV), and it comes and goes with no real excitement.  Instead, I find myself taking stock of how I’m doing with my New Year’s “resolutions” that I made at the start of the school year. After all, the holiday break is pretty much the half-way mark.

And so far, so good. Here are a few of the things I resolved to do:

1. Get to know the folks in my department better – starting with the head coaches, I have had lunch with all but one of them and am excited to meet with the other fabulous folks with whom I work.

2. Learn something new everyday – that’s not hard to do because there is just so much to learn in this job.

3. Attend as many home contests as possible – I’ve done pretty well so far. It’s really difficult to do attend all the events I want to attend but I’m finding it easier each year to learn the rhythm of the sports seasons and how to schedule around all the contests.

4. Keep a healthy balance between work and personal life – I think I’ve done a good job here but to do well in this category means I can’t get to all the home contests I want to attend, and it will take me longer to accomplish my goal of getting to know everyone better. I know this, if I do well with this resolution, I will feel as if I have done a big thing… this is the hardest one of them all.

With all that said, I don’t know about you, but I’m excited to start another term and am looking forward to all the promise it holds.  Here’s to successfully fulfilling our resolutions for a new year, as well as seeing a successful conclusion to the winter sports seasons and a successful beginning to the spring sports season.  All the best to you in 2010 and Go Generals!

Leave a Reply

