All good things must come to an end

by

By: Wendy Orrison
Head Field Hockey Coach

In the Physical Education department all head coaches have a second, or administrative, duty.  For the past nine years my second duty has been to serve as a women’s lacrosse assistant.  For the first seven years, I was privileged to work under Jan Hathorn and I learned so much about coaching.  Jan was and is always very organized, she is very caring about her teams and her players and I learned an immense amount working with her.  Her passion for people and sports has often inspired me.  Jan was one of the first female coaches here at W&L.  She helped to pave the way for me and young coaches.  Jan also values academics and educations.  Jan always talked about how important the process was…the process of learning a sport, the process of maturing, the process of building a championship team year in and year out.  Jan and I loved to laugh and I looked forward to the long bus drives and the practices with her, except when it was below 50 degrees!

For the next two years I worked with Brooke Diamond; she was appointed head women’s lacrosse coach in the summer of 2007.  I was surprised how much I learned from Brooke as well.  I was supposed to be her mentor, as it was her first head coaching job, but Brooke served as a mentor to me many times.  Brooke is typical of the new, younger coaches; she is a workhorse.  She was in the office before me and stayed after me nearly every day.  Brooke is also passionate about sports and people and it was great to see the women’s lacrosse torch pass so ably from Jan to Brooke.  I was proud to be a part of the successful transition.  Brooke can recruit like nobody’s business so she and the program are going to do great.

This year my second duty has changed.  I will now serve as an assistant to the riding team and head coach Gordon Reistrup.   I am excited about the change and had been seeking it.  As the mother of two young children, it was becoming more and more difficult to balance work and family.  The equestrian season is shorter and more flexible.  I can bring my son with me when I muck out stalls and there are far fewer shows and overnight commitments.

Thanks Jan and Brooke and all of women’s lacrosse players for allowing me the privilege to be a part of such a high caliber program.  The field hockey team has benefitted greatly from my work with the lacrosse program.  Jan, thank you for allowing me to shift over to equestrian and begin a new chapter of my coaching career and of course more learning.

Leave a Reply

