March Recognitions

by

By: Josh Williamson
Head Athletic Trainer

March is recognized by the National Athletic Trainer’s Association as National Athletic Training month.  It is commonly used as a time to promote awareness in the community about what athletic training is and what an athletic trainer does.  I would like to take this time to openly thank all of the athletic trainers that I have had the opportunity to work with, more specifically, the staff that I work with.  They have done a tremendous job in helping many student-athletes reach their goals by providing evaluations, treatments, rehabilitations, tapings, and bracings.  They have performed a great deal of mundane tasks and put in a lot of hours behind the scenes in order to do their job, frequently unbeknownst to anyone.  I further would like to extend this thank you to the Sports Information Directors and their staffs.  As an athletic trainer, I have put in my fair share of work and who do I frequently see arriving and leaving a sporting event around the same time as myself?  That’s right, a Sports Information employee.  They don’t have a Sports Information Directors month to formally recognize all they do.  So I’ll share March as not only as National Athletic Training month but also as National Sports Information Directors month!  (Do I have the power to do that?!)  Thank you to all those who help athletics function on a daily basis.

Leave a Reply

