Reunions

by

By: Jan Hathorn
Athletic Director

Over the past two days, I have had the distinct privilege to “reunion” with one of our alums, Kyle Meehan. Having her here has reminded me, once again, how valuable relationships are and how much they mean to me.  Kyle is one of those students that you never forget because she’s all the things you want to be – bright, caring, generous, fun-loving and civic-minded. She improved the room and the group whenever she was around, and she made me a better person and educator because she challenged the norms and questioned status quo. It has been such an honor to reconnect with her and to rediscover how much she has affected my life.  I’m so thankful I can call her my friend.

And she is a reminder of the reason why I love this job … because so many of the people and students with whom we get to work are just exceptional people. And on the eve of Reunion Weekend, it seemed fitting to me to pay tribute to the many alums who have graced our lives, and the life of this old place; who come back to remind us how important it is to stay in touch and that the most precious asset at this University is its people.  Reunions are not only fun, they are necessary, for they allow us to pause and pay attention to the very thing we hold most dear – our friendships.  What would this place be without them?

Leave a Reply

