Memory Lane

by

By: Shana Levine
Associate Athletic Director

Hall of Fame weekend in Lex Vegas this past weekend – always a great event.  This Hall of Fame weekend was made particularly special because one of my former soccer teammates, “Treese”, aka Karin Treese Bauer, was one of the athletes inducted.  Seeing Treese inducted and hearing her speech elicited two very different reactions from me

(1) how cool is it that I know, love and played with someone that is now being inducted into the Hall of Fame?

(2) holy cats, I feel old.

Let’s talk about the first point, which elicited a more positive reaction.

Just a little proof that Levine did play with Treese and how fast time flies by. Simply click on the photo to enlarge.

It is very cool to think that I had the opportunity to play with someone with Hall of Fame talent.  And Treese was truly incredible – both as an athlete and as a person.  From an athletic standpoint, she did not have had the most-talented supporting cast of players around her, yet she is still the current record-holder for most career goals and points.  And she played in 10 fewer games than most of the women behind her in the record books.  It’s amazing when you really think about it.  Oh, and by the way, she was also a rock star on the basketball and lacrosse teams.

What really set Treese apart, however, was her ability to make everyone on the field/court better.  That is an intrinsic quality that makes such a difference on a team.  She was never upset that we were not on the same page (or, sometimes, even in the same book) as she was on the soccer field, but instead, was always supportive and looking to bring her teammates along with her.  I think it was her ability to make everyone on the field better that made me feel very lucky to play with her.  Oh, and also because she was a fellow Steelers and Penguins fan.  I am sure that helped as well.

Okay, now onto the second and more depressing reaction.  Following the realization that it is amazing to see one of my teammates inducted into the Hall of Fame was the realization that I am old enough to have played with someone in the Hall of Fame.  This second realization really hit home during my men’s league soccer game on Sunday.  Yes, I said men’s league.  There is no competitive women’s league nearby, so men’s league is the only option.  Just go with it.  However, as I spend my time chasing around 25ish-year-old male, the men’s league only accentuates the feeling of getting older.  Let’s be honest, I have never been as fast as a 25-year-old male, but it is getting exponentially worse each year.  So, while I may be early in my 30’s – I feel much, much older during and after these soccer games.

Turning 30 didn’t bother me as much as I thought it would.  I think this was due to my excellent ability to rationalize just about anything.  I remember thinking to myself, “I don’t feel old. In fact, 30 isn’t that old because just a few (insert appropriate length of time – days/weeks/months) ago I was 29 and 29 really isn’t old, right?”  Well, that thinking doesn’t really work when the appropriate length of time is over 2 years and rising.  Ugh.  Well, I guess the only option is to focus on all the amazing things I have gotten to do so far (like play soccer with a Hall of Famer!) and look forward to more exciting times to come.

Congrats, Treese.  It was a privilege to play with you for 2 seasons and a pleasure to know you.  You are the best and deserve the all recognition that comes your way.

Leave a Reply

