Goodbye 2010 and Hello 2011

by

By: Kelly Mathis
Assistant Women’s Basketball Coach

As my first semester as an assistant coach comes to an end and the beginning of my second semester begins, I have nothing but excitement and thanks filling my heart.  This past year, the opportunity to coach at the collegiate level has been the best experience and opportunity I could ever ask for.  From playing coach in my kitchen as a little girl, there has been no doubt in my mind that this is exactly what I desire to do.

This first semester of coaching has come quick.  It was filled with observing, learning and implementing a daily routine.  Along with a complete adjustment, as for the first time in my life, I have had to pay monthly bills, cook for myself and really learn to live on my own as an adult.  However, the opportunity to work for and work with some of the most extraordinary people has only guided me in becoming better each day.

2011 has snuck up on me, and I am very anxious for the heart of the season to be in full swing.  Today, we begin that part of the season;  I am looking forward to watching our team grow and go above and beyond our season goals.  As all the anxiety of a new assistant coach has started to dwindle, the beginning of 2011 has led me to look at a year of excitement!

Leave a Reply

