Here we are at the end…

by

By: Brian Laubscher
Sports Information Director

So here we are at the end of yet another school year.  Dear God, where does the time go?  At the risk of sounding cliché, I could say something like “seems like just yesterday we were getting started”, but clearly it was not just yesterday and so much has happened between today and last June.  I would like to think of the 2010-11 school year as among my favorite in my time at W&L.  There have been so many significant moments for me personally and I think I’ll spend the next 30-40 minutes of writing time to share a few of them with you.

We’ll go in chronological order here.

May 28, 2010 – You may think I’d be nostalgic about graduation and losing all those great student-athletes that have provided so many highlights for the last four years and you would be half right.  I do think fondly about their careers ending and never seeing them put on that uniform again, but on the day after graduation I am usually happy that they are gone.  You’ve got to look at it in that the school year is like a marathon for those of us that work 6-7 days a week for nine months of the year.  The day after graduation is like reaching the finish line.  After a few weeks of down time and golf my nostalgia generally sets in and I begin to realize what is gone with the latest graduating class.

June 26, 2010 – This was my wedding day, something I truthfully never imagined happening after my first 11 years in the dating prison known as Lexington. Anyone who has ever spent more than 1 year as a single person in this town knows exactly what I’m talking about.  The wedding was a blast and, aside from my groomsmen referring to the pastor as Ned Flanders, all went off without a hitch.

June 28-July 6, 2010 – Anyone who wouldn’t count a honeymoon in Hawaii in their list of significant events during the course of a year is probably suffering from a crack addiction.  I’m already counting down the days until we return for an anniversary sometime in the future.

Early August, 2010 – I can’t remember the exact date, but last August I attended the Philadelphia Eagles training camp for a day to interview W&L alum James Urban ’94, who was the Eagles quarterback coach.  As an Eagles fan, it was certainly a thrill to stand on the sidelines among the players and coaches.  At the time, the hot interview was newly-minted starter Kevin Kolb and because of that, my interview time with Kolb lasted for all of one question as he walked to his car.  If I wanted, I could have talked with Vick all afternoon – he was an after thought.  Interesting how quickly things change.  Kolb got hurt in the opener and never got his job back.  Interesting though that this summer, Kolb is the hot name again but for a different reason.  He’s become the face of the lockout as he is desperate for the lockout to end so the Eagles can trade him and he can finally become a starter.

September 18, 2010 – My wife and I traveled to East Lansing during the W&L football bye week to take in the Michigan State-Notre Dame football game.  She’s a MSU alum and we decided to make a quick weekend trip to take in the game.  It’s now known as the “Little Giants” game.  The Spartans knocked off the Irish in overtime as the winning touchdown was scored right in front of us on a fake field goal which was called “Little Giants” in the Michigan State playbook.  A great game and significant in another way – it was the game where the MSU coach had a heart attack after the game.  He later returned to lead the Spartans to an 11-win season and a share of the Big Ten title.

October, 2010 – This entire month was when the football team sort of arrived, going 5-0 and rushing for more than 400 yards in every game.  I also enjoyed the night game on Friday, October 29.  It was a different experience to take the metro to the game, see the Generals set a conference record with 496 rushing yards, and then see all the interesting Halloween outfits sported by the Catholic and Gallaudet students as they headed out for a night on the town.

January 5, 2011 – On this date, I saw the best basketball game to be played in the Warner Center in my time at W&L as the Generals defeated Eastern Mennonite, 93-92.  It was by far the best I’ve seen W&L men’s basketball play against a top-notch opponent.  The Generals shot better than 55 percent from the floor and out-rebounded the Royals, 44-30.  There have been a few road games that could stack up, but this was the best home game I’ve seen.

January 17, 2011 – You might remember this day as Martin Luther King Day.  But I remember it as the day I learned that I was going to be a Dad.  What could be more significant?

March 18-20, 2011 – I was fortunate enough to have the opportunity to work the first and second rounds of the NCAA Division I men’s basketball tournament in Cleveland, Ohio.  It was pretty awesome to have a press row seat to watch teams like Ohio State, Villanova, Marquette and Syracuse.  Unfortunately, my Wildcats lost on a last second shot to George Mason.

May 27, 2011 – Today I’ve crossed the finish line once again. I’m looking forward to what the 2011-12 year will bring, especially that little one that is due in September.  But for now, I’m content with getting some much-needed R&R.

Leave a Reply

