Where I was during 9/11 and what I felt

by

By: Brandon Uhl
Head Men’s Track & Field Coach

Do you remember where you were and what you felt when this happened?

It was just over 10 years ago that we were attacked by terrorists. I’m often told by my wife that I don’t remember anything. However, I remember 9/11/2001 and the days after very well. I had just graduated from Slippery Rock University. I was living with some friends who were still students. They had all left and went to classes that morning and since I worked at an athletic club at night, I was able to sleep some.

I got up that morning and had my customary bowl of cereal and turned the tv on espn for sportscenter. It wasn’t long after I was watching that the breaking news came that the first twin tower had been hit. I remember thinking, how can that happen? Before long the next tower was hit and no matter what channel you turned to, it was showing images of the twin towers.

Then the news came that the planes were commercial aircrafts and terrorists had taken them over. I immediately felt helpless and angry that this could be done to us. Those feelings grew as news broke that the Pentagon was hit in Washington, D.C., and another plane crashed in Shanksville, PA.

The plane that crashed in Pennsylvania, was only 2.5 hours away from me in Slippery Rock. It made me feel very small. I always felt that we would never be attacked as Americans and how in the world did they get control of those commercial planes without being caught.

Throughout that day and days after, more and more new information came out about the attacks. The twin towers fell to the ground and I was in complete shock because I thought they were indestructible. The story that brought some sense of fight to me was the fact that citizens on the flight 93 plane that went down in Pennsylvania were able to get to the terrorists and save further destruction.

The 9/11 attacks made me realize how much I took for granted. The songs that came out from various singers had many emotions, but the one song that stuck with me was Alan Jackson’s, “Where Were You.” It summed up many of the emotions I was feeling and always seemed to be on when I was traveling to work and back.

Ten years later I travel back and forth to school 40 minutes each day and feel very fortunate that I get to do what I do. My thoughts and prayers go out to all of the people who lost loved ones during the 9/11 attacks. We should all appreciate what we have and never forget what happened to our country that day.

Leave a Reply

