An Introduction

by

By: Brittani Sahm
Sports Information Assistant

With this being my first official blog entry at W&L, I should probably start by letting you know a little bit about me. My name is Brittani. Yes, that sounds like Brittany, only with an “I” at the end. I have heard so many versions of my name by now you probably won’t surprise me anyway.

Now that you know my name, I can move on to how I ended up in Lexington.

I grew up in a little town about 25 miles north of Syracuse, NY, which is technically located in central NY, absolutely not upstate. I forgive people for this common misconception because, for some reason, that has become the norm. My town, Phoenix, isn’t so different from Lexington, but it happens to be next to a river rather than in the middle of the mountains.

Although my town was small, bigger towns in all directions surrounded me. I was lucky enough to have everything I needed (mall, strip mall, chain restaurants, grocery stores, etc.) be a five-minute drive away. I honestly never realized how secluded most other places were until I went away to college, and even further realized it when I interned for a semester at Williams College. I now know how spoiled the retail industry has been to my area and me.

My high school was pretty tiny. I guess for Virginia it wouldn’t be, but the area I’m from the normal graduating class is about 300. John C. Birdlebough High School in Phoenix, NY walked 179 kids in the year 2008, my graduation. To describe me in one word, I was a NERD. I did all my homework, sucked up to teachers and actually got upset if my grade was below a 90 in any class.

After high school was done, I moved on to SUNY Cortland, a state school that has not only helped significantly lower my debt, but has helped me figure out what I want in this crazy life. I have a bachelor’s degree in sport management, with a minor in computer applications. Our sport management program is one of the best in the country, so I was fortunate to have plenty of great professors and resources on campus.

I guess the nerd inside me never left because I was able to graduate in 3½ years while being on the track and field team. I don’t really know why I planned on graduating early, but it worked out great; I was a member of the staff here at W&L before I even received my diploma. I still don’t know if home has gotten that beautiful piece of paper in the mail yet.

By the way, if you haven’t already figured it out, I am 21 years old. I turn 22 in two weeks (woo!), and I am one of the youngest staff members in athletics, probably in all of the school.

Anyway, how did I end up at W&L? Pretty simple actually. As I said before, I interned at Williams up in Massachusetts this last fall semester. I was searching for jobs and stumbled upon a sports information assistant listing. It sounded perfect for someone like me who is new to the field but at least can manage on a daily basis. I had never heard of the school, but I was called about an interview, was offered the job, and now am almost two months into it.

I can’t imagine being anywhere else at this point in my life. I love my job, my bosses are awesome, and I have made some great friends already. I will admit that it has been difficult at times. I miss home a lot. My family was my life, but I have come to realize that they will always be there. The work is definitely not easy. The adjustment from college work to real-life work has been hard, but I don’t give up.

Lexington is my new home, and the Generals are my new favorite team. I’m ready for even more experiences. Oh, and anytime you see me, whether it be at a game or running around town or at Kroger’s, feel free to say hello. I always love meeting new people!

Leave a Reply

