What Kind of Dog is Best for Us

by

The Generals’ basketball seasons started a few weeks ago and that means that I will be at almost every home men’s and women’s basketball games, as well as the men’s road games. This leads into a talking point that my wife, Lydia, and I have been thinking about getting a dog. What does getting a dog and basketball season have in common?

Don't you just want to give it a big hug.

Don’t you just want to give it a big hug.

Basically, I’m not home as often, so it will give Lydia a companion when I’m not around. Also, we both love dogs, and this might just speed up the process of getting one.

Now, if we do end up with a new pup, we have to figure out what kind of dog we want. We both came from homes that had dogs when we were kids. My family had a mutt, Maggie, that we rescued from the animal shelter and then a pair of golden retrievers, Yoder and Gus. Lydia’s family had a couple of rescue beagles, Copper and Cricket. Lydia’s parents also took in her brother’s dog a few years back. He’s a pitbull-boxer mix named Marley. So looking at what we might get, I thought I’d share with you some of my favorite types of dogs.

My all-time favorite, and one I will definitely own at some point in my life is a Newfoundland. It’s basically like a normal

dog except like three times as large (as you can see from the photo) and looks like a bear. I’ve always thought they were good-looking dogs. Not only do they look cool, but according to the American Kennel club “sweetness of temperament is the hallmark of the Newfoundland.” How can you go wrong with a dog constantly called a gentle giant?

A dog that can skateboards, um, not much is better than that.

A dog that can skateboard, um, not much is better than that.

Of course, the down side is right now we don’t have a lot of space and Newfoundlands are expensive dogs. I mean, they probably eat as much as I do in a month.

So let’s go to the other end of the spectrum and look at an English Bulldog. They come in a small package, but any type of dog that can skateboard (pictured) is all right in my book. Plus, look at that face. How can any not be happy looking at that face? Out of all the smaller dog types, this is my favorite. For some reason it just feels like a bigger dog than it is.

The third and final dog I’ll list here is a Bernese Mountain Dog. Obviously bigger than an English Bulldog, but smaller than a Newfoundland. The coloring of the breed is unique (just look at the adorable puppy) and it loves being outdoors. And as many of you know, there are great places to spend time in the outdoors around Lexington. If I had to pick a purebred dog right now, it would probably be this one.

Try not to smile looking at this.

Try not to smile looking at this.

My wife and I are very flexible when it comes to what kind of dog we might get (we really do like all types, although I’m more of a big-dog guy than a small-dog guy), so we may end up with a dog from a shelter before getting a purebred later in our lives.

What I would like to do and we’ve had some difficulty in the past doing this, but I would like to know what you think in the comments below. You can post about your favorite type of dog, what you think I should get or anything else you believe is relevant to this specific blog. As long as you don’t start talking about cats (kidding – maybe).

Leave a Reply

