The Year in Movies

by

By: Chip Whipple
Assistant Sports Information Director

The Oscar nominations were recently released and it got me to thinking about movies. Not necessarily about the movies that were nominated, because I haven’t seen any of the movies that were nominated for Best Picture (I am really looking forward to seeing Silver Linings Playbook, Argo & Lincoln).

My wife, Lydia, and I don’t go out to the movies all that often, so we rely on Netflix to watch movies. I decided to create a Top 3 and Bottom 3 of movies I watched for the first time in 2012 and list the reasons why. Everyone has different criteria for why they like movies, but for me it is pretty simple: I just want to be entertained.

Bottom 3 Movies

This means war was certainly not one of my favorites

This means war was certainly not one of my favorites

3. This Means War – This was a movie that Lydia really wanted to watch. It is a classic Reese Witherspoon romantic comedy, which means it is not all that funny and the romantic parts don’t get you all that invested.

2. Wrath of the Titans – The Clash of the Titans remake was actually not a bad movie (it was average with some good action scenes), but this sequel was just one CGI monster after another. It was clearly a case of the studio making money off the first and trying to push out a sequel as quickly as possible. Plus there was not a memorable Liam Neeson line like “Release the Kraken” in Wrath.

1. Ghost Rider: Spirit of Vengeance – I’m actually more than a little embarrassed that I watched this movie (I’m a sucker for comic book movies as you’ll see below). Academy Award winner Nicolas Cage (Hard to believe, I know) is far removed from when he was a respectable actor, and now he mostly does cash grab movies. The first Ghost Rider was a bad movie, but one of those movies where it is so over the top and overacted that it makes it fun to watch. Spirit of Vengeance just made me want to slam my head against the table.

Top 3 Movies

The Avengers was definitely my favorite movie of 2012.

The Avengers was definitely my favorite movie of 2012.

3. The Five-Year Engagement – I really enjoy Jason Segal comedies. This movie wasn’t as funny as Forgetting Sarah Marshall, but I enjoyed it all the same. For a year that had a lot of bad comedy films (That’s my Boy, The Three Stooges, etc.), I’d put The Five-Year Engagement just ahead of 21 Jump Street on my favorite comedies I saw this year.

2. The Dark Knight Rises – Christopher Nolan just knows how to make well-crafted movies. Again, I really enjoy comic book movies and this definitely fits in that category. The pacing was a little slow in the middle of the movie and it wasn’t as good as The Dark Knight, but still a movie that I’d be happy to own.

1. The Avengers – Not only was director Joss Whedon able to tell the story and have it make sense with so many superheroes, but the part that makes this movie great was the build up to it. After having seen Iron Man, Iron Man 2, Thor, Captain America and the Incredible Hulk, this was a capstone, which made all the time watching those movies really worth it. Let’s just hope as they build up to Avengers 2 everyone involved does the same great work.

One Response to “The Year in Movies”

  1. Matt Phillips Says:

    What about Pitch Perfect 😉

Leave a Reply

