Personal Evolution

by

By: Brian Laubscher
Sports Information Director

When I started this blog 3 ½ years ago, I thought it might be a good way for people to get a look inside our athletic department.  A way to get to know the personalities and inner workings of the department and to connect to our coaches and staff members in a way that fans, athletes, parents, etc., couldn’t by just reading a bio or seeing the result of a game.

Personally, I used the blog as a way to share my thoughts about our teams or my experiences in athletics or as a sports fan.  As of the fall of 2009, I would say that those few topics pretty much encapsulated my life.  Sad when I think about it.  I had plenty of fun moments, don’t get me wrong, but your life can only be so rich when you’re not responsible for creating your own memories.

Funny that you can look back at this blog and pinpoint the time when my view points and thoughts that I was willing to share shifted from involving or even better yet, revolving around my job.  It started when I married my wife Mindy and picked up speed after the birth of my son Parker.  One parent told me that having a child would rock my world and I must say he was right (you know who you are :)).  I knew that life would be different, but I couldn’t comprehend the ways it would change me.

I had to share this classic photo of Parker throwing a fit.  He apparently was not pleased about having to go inside after riding in his wagon.

I had to share this classic photo of Parker throwing a fit. He apparently was not pleased about having to go inside after riding in his wagon.

My thoughts and sometimes my ramblings now tend to revolve around my family, even if they often still involve something related to sports (like when I finally let Parker wear his Eagles jersey upon learning of Andy Reid’s firing).  The truth is no matter how I have changed, sports will always be a large part of my life.  The difference is that now my family is my life and sports just seek to enhance it.  I can’t say that has always been the case and I’m happy enough about that to give people more of a look at my family life because I’m proud and content with where I am.

So if you are looking for more content about the top W&L sporting moments of the 2012-13 school year, I could probably recite them to you in one of my final entries before the summer break this June.  The old me did it in 2010 and again in 2011.  The new me, I would much rather share with you the details of the next chapter of my life.  If you’ve really read the first four paragraphs of this blog entry you may already have it figured out.  For the rest of you, I’ll make it much easier in the next paragraph.

On June 13, 2013 (or so they say), my blog content will expand as I share details surrounding the birth of my second child.  I’m hoping the experience will be just as good as the first, but at very least the timing was better than the first time around (Parker was born in September).

I’m sure that plenty will be different, but I’m excited to see in what ways that is true.  Will the baby have the same features, will its temperament be the same?  Will it sleep as well as Parker (God I hope so)?  Will it have hair right from the start or will it be bald?  Will it take a bottle well and will it do its best to make me look like a stellar father just as Parker did?

There are so many questions that Mindy and I decided this time around we would find out the biggest question of all.  Parker’s sex was a surprise right up until the moment he took his first breath.  This time around we wanted it to be different.  This June, Mindy and I will introduce Parker to his little brother and I can’t wait to tell you all about it.

Leave a Reply

