ODAC Championship


By: John Geissinger
Assistant Swimming Coach

The 2012-13 ODAC Champion Generals!

The 2013 ODAC Champion Generals!

We have just returned from the ODAC Championship, winning our sixth straight title and 23rd overall for the University. We end the year setting seven new school records and posting 40 All-Time Top 10 Performances in school history. Emma Swabb won Rookie of the Year, Caroline Hamp was ODAC Swimmer of the Year, and Delaney Rolfe was the Scholar-Athlete of the Year, the first three-time winner of that award for swimming in ODAC History.

The conference overall has seen a lot of recent growth and improvement in the last few seasons and all of the coaches should be commended for that. Guilford got a relay in the Top 8 of Finals, Bridgewater captured third-place, and Emory & Henry won three events. It certainly was a good sign for the ODAC as a whole. Moving forward, the women’s team continues to focus on the goal of qualifying for NCAAs. The future is bright as we return ¾ of the 200 Medley Relay that flirted with a provisional cut in that event.

A successful season does not come without struggle and I would like to thank the Senior Class for guiding our team through the trials and tribulations of the season. You are only as strong as your weakest link and everyone towed their weight. With an exciting incoming class joining our strong team next year I anticipate more fast swims to come, more records to fall.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: