So Long Football

by

By: Chip Whipple
Assistant Sports Information Director

ImageThe month of February brings to an end the professional football season. A lot of people (myself included) get invested during the NFL season with our favorite teams and fantasy teams. Side note – All of my teams did pretty poorly this season. The Browns did what they have done best the past 14 years and that was losing a lot of games. I was also in a few fantasy football leagues and failed to secure a single Top 3 finish. Sure, you can follow NFL through the combine, and free agency and the draft are quickly approaching, but there will be no more real, honest to goodness games until September.

The NFL season didn’t exactly end how I would have hoped. As a life-long Browns’ fan, seeing the Ravens win their second Super Bowl since leaving Cleveland was a bummer. But I wasn’t as upset as I was the first time they did it in 2000. I’d like to think part of it was how I’ve matured since I was a freshman in high school. Also, I have a lot of great things going on now, so the disappointment of seeing a rival team succeed wasn’t as much of a bother. And as they say in Cleveland, there is always next year.

Part of me is a little disappointed when football comes to an end, but on the other hand, it is kind of nice to have Sunday afternoons backs. I don’t feel that need to be in front of the television for the 1:00 pm games, or make sure my fantasy roster is completely set. My wife, Lydia, surely will enjoy that I won’t be yelling at the television or my computer (when I follow the Browns online) on why my team did or did not use a time out.

Plus, we are now past the All-Star break in the NBA, which means the playoffs are right around the corner. While I won’t have a dog in the race (my Cavaliers will be in the lottery again), watching the best basketball players in the world compete every night in the playoffs is one of my favorite things to experience every year.

Who knows what I’ll do with free Sunday afternoons now (as long as I’m not covering a W&L sport). Maybe I’ll go on long walks with our new dog Max, or maybe I’ll get to take out the golf clubs a little earlier than I was expecting.

One of the things I’m most looking forward to is spring in Lexington. With this being the first one since we’ve moved, I’m excited for the warming weather coming sooner (spring in New Hampshire, and Ohio before that, didn’t really begin until mid-May). The one thing I do know is that no matter what happens this spring and summer, the NFL will start back up in September. And I’ll be right there waiting for it.

Leave a Reply

