National Athletic Training Month

by

By: Alison Kapuska
Assistant Athletic Trainer

NATMWhen asked to write a blog back in August my first thought was “Sure I would have no problems coming up with topics to discuss”. I had great plans to open people’s eyes to Athletic Training issues that plague me daily. Like how heavy 10 gallons really is and what that blue tape actually does. But September happened and my mind was blank. Every month since I have spent countless hours debating on a topic. I would post for suggestions on Facebook – no help. I would hold brainstorming sessions with in the athletic training room with unwilling athletes hooked up to electrical stim – obviously no help. I had even pondered discussing the Snowpocalypse that’s threatening to unleash maybe 6 inches of snow upon us.  But at last Facebook came through for me..finally!

Happy National Athletic Training Month!

One month a year athletic trainers around the United States celebrate the profession. According to The National Athletic Trainers’ Association there are around 40,000 certified athletic trainers in the U.S. This is a time that we work to change the term “trainer” to “Athletic Trainer”. It is a time that we educate the pubic about our profession. Athletic trainers are not only for high schools and colleges. But can work in doctor’s offices, military, performing arts, hospitals, and professional sports.

In order to become a Certified Athletic Trainer you need to graduate from an accredited university with a degree in athletic training and pass the Board of Certification exam.  Upon doing so, depending on the state you choose to work in, you may need to further licensure. Here in Virginia there is a required state licensure. Mine is currently on my board behind my desk just in case some one wants to see it. Seems pretty easy doesn’t it? Not so much. But if you choose to celebrate please thank your current or past athletic trainer. I’m going to take this time to thank my co-workers Josh Williamson, Matt Phillips, and Rachel Wheeler for all you do for the profession and your athletes.  Lastly I would like to thank Kyra Dodson, our intern student athletic trainer from Western Carolina, for all the hard work she did during her time here at W&L and good luck returning to class.  Until next time!

Leave a Reply

